Well, I guess that’s not really true for me, but hey, I’m always happy to quote Kermit.  Green is my most favourite colour – I go through phases where everything I’m working on and everything around me is green.  I”m actually in one now –  both of my main knitting  projects are green!

First off, I finished a Scrollin’ sock:

Really quick knit actually – less than a week from start to finish.  It’s been a great at home pattern – the repeats go quickly &  it’s easy for me to memorize.  Best of all,  I immediately cast on for the second, which seems to be my issue of late.

The problem is, it’s not a great one to take somewhere like the movies – I do have to look down at it once in awhile to get the stitches straight.  “But,” I can hear you say, “You have a boring dull stockinette sock that you were working on last week.”  Sadly I ran into a problem.  Or rather on – I stepped on my size 0 circ the other night.  Unsurprisingly, it broke. (I seem to have issues with keeping a hold of my size 0s).  So now I could just CO for the second on my dpns, but the main reason I like magic loop is I don’t have to worry about dropping a dpn somewhere, say in a dark theater.  Or I could just place another order at KnitPicks (oh, such a difficulty – I’m dying to try the new City Tweed, which I recently got to fondle.  Lovely stuff, perfect for a sweater.)

Or I could cast on for another sock in a different yarn with my other free long circ (my other one is being used for the Devon socks…also not a great project to have for purse knitting).  My eyes keep getting drawn to this…

Lotus Yarns May Sock Club - 70% superwash merino  30% SeaCell.  100% delicous.

Lotus Yarns Mythos Sock Club for May - Medusa, 70% superwash merino 30% SeaCell. 100% delicous.

Or maybe this…

STR Mediumweight Lunasea

STR Mediumweight Lunasea

While I really want to try out the Lotus Yarn – I always love trying out new fibers & I’ve never used seacell before – my only empty circ needle is a size 2, which I think the mediumweight STR would look better on.  And I might want to save the semi-solid Medusa for a more complicated pattern.  Not to mention it’s nearly the same colour as the KP Essentials I’m using on Scrollin’.

So I guess I just talked myself into STR. 🙂

My other project is an old hibernating one.  Anyone remember this?

I’m really embarrassed – I started this in April 2007.  Yes, that’s right, over 2 years ago.  It’s Cables & Os from No Sheep for You and I dig it out every few months & work on a repeat or so before it goes back into hibernation.  While picking out some clothes the other night for a job interview (fingers crossed!), I realized that I really want this sweater – it’s KP Cotlin, perfect for cooler summer days & air conditioned offices.  And such lovely cables.  So it’s back on the needles again…hopefully until it’s finished.  I still have (man this is really embarrassing) 3-4 inches to go on the body before the sleeves, then the yoke, then the sleeves.  I think the reason I keep putting it down is it just takes so darn long to do one row and it’s my first sweater on smaller than size 6 needles.  And a more complicated pattern than I’ve done so I keep having to tink back to correct a mistake, which takes the row even longer.  Sigh.  I thought about frogging it actually, but when I pulled it out again, I fell in love all over again.  So I am determined.

Another green theme is continued from my last post – green eating!  One thing that sparked my interest in organic & homegrown food was my own little garden.  Finally I’m getting some items in bloom!

A teeny tiny tomato!

A teeny tiny tomato!

sunflowers growing on a daily basis - amazing these things started 2 months ago from a tiny sunflower seed!

sunflowers growing on a daily basis - amazing these things started 2 months ago from a tiny sunflower seed!

a pumpkin blossom!  Not really green, but Im excited because I thought my pumpkin plant had died until last week when it started growing all of a sudden

a pumpkin blossom! Not really green, but I'm excited because I thought my pumpkin plant had died until last week when it started growing all of a sudden

And last, but not least, a sure sign that Summer is in Portland…Roses!

my rose bush that, again, I thought had died over the winter.  Hearty plants, those roses.

my rose bush that, again, I thought had died over the winter. Hearty plants, those roses.

Have a great week everyone!  I’m off to Eugene on Thursday for the second of the multiple fiber fests in OR this summer – Black Sheep Gathering.  I’m looking forward to it, I’m going  with my lovely mom who is so excited we went 2 years ago & had fun, though I just discovered the Alpacas won’t be there this year.  Sad!  But look out Blue Moon STR mill ends! 🙂

Update:  I got a job!  It’s with a dream company – a local yarn/knititng company I adore – you might be able to figure out who that is, but I’ll give more details after I start on Monday! 😀  YAH!

