Whew. The bad thing about going a couple of weeks between blog posts is where to begin again. So I may as well start with socks – which is all I seem to do these days.

While CoffeeBoy was here, I pretty much just worked on a plain pair of socks – it was good to take along to the movies (go see Up. Right now.) and, since I was the designated driver 90% of the time, perfect for bar knitting.  I finished one.

It’s some Yarn Pirate sock yarn I got in a swap – it’s lovely and I like the striping.  It’s just plain stockinette and a true afterthought heel – I found myself nearing the heel and, not wanting to mess with it just then (I think we were actually going to see Up.  Did I mention I freaking love that movie?), I just knit a half a round with a spare piece of yarn, then picked up stitches when I was ready.  It turned out pretty good, though I think I may have done too many decrease rounds.

But this sock is very boring.  Mind numbing dull.  Which works for out & about knitting but not for knitting at home.  Maybe I’m in denial about Second Sock Syndrome, but I had to cast on a more interesting pair of socks.  I swear, I’m going to knit the second one!  As well as the other single socks I have!  Swear! There’s only one other one!  That I can think of!

Ahem.

This is the lovely Essential Kettle Dyed Yarn from KnitPicks.  I’ve seen some complaints about it, but really, I have none.  It’s nicely variegated  – same with the other skein I have in my stash.  I’ve been buying more semi solid sock yarns lately because I’m more interested in intricate patterns – this one is from More Sensational Knitted Socks; it’s called Scrolls and I really like it – pretty easy to memorize (it’s similar to Reversi actually) and looks really interesting.  Plus it holds my attention.  So the Yarn Pirate sock will go with me to the movies (maybe I’ll go see Up again!) and the Scrollin’ will stay at home with me.

And speaking of MSKS…I will be taking a class with Ms Charlene Schurch at Sock Summit!   I’m very excited, as really, the Sensational Knitted Socks books are what got me into sock knitting – it helped me understand construction & I refer to both books constantly.  Easily the best knitting book purchases I’ve made.   And yes, I managed to get registered during the whole server kerfuffle.  I actually didn’t have too much of an issue – yes, I did get logged out a couple of times, but still managed to register (only once!) for the classes & events I really wanted.  I am sorry for all the people who didn’t get what they wanted (but not sorry for the jerks sending horrible emails to Tina & Stephanie – I’m glad you didn’t get in.) but I’m pleased with my choices.

In case you were wondering, I’m taking Colorful Stitches (with Cristi and Carrie – Yah!) and Top Down Socks That Use Up All The Yarn (the class taught by Charlene Schurch), plus I’m attending the opening ceremony and the Luminary Panel.  I wish I could have taken a Cookie A class, but really, I can’t complain too much.  I’m really looking forward to August!

Well I don’t want to have a miles long post, but I do have more to say – I’ll leave this for now.  By the way, I finally freaking gave in to Twitter – as you may see over on the sidebar.  I was in such denial for so long, but I am enjoying it – it’s nice & clean to read (sorry Plurk) and I’m having fun following people – some of my faves (other than people I already know!) are Augusten Burroughs, John Hodgman, and Neil Gaiman, plus a lot of the local Portland foodie links.  Sigh.  I tried so hard not to do it, but now I’m addicted.  Feel free to add me if I haven’t added you!

