After a brief stint of  comfort knits & toys, I’m back on pretty much only socks now.  I keep casting on for more – maybe it was a mistake buying more long circular needles because if I have free needles, they need to be put to use, right?

I did finish up a pair in time for CoffeeBoy’s visit next week:

More Boy Socks

Started: April 19

Completed: May 19

Yarn:  KnitPicks Bare Superwash Merino/Alpaca/Nylon Sock Yarn and KnitPicks Essential (Ash)

Pattern:  Tubey from Son of Stitch & Bitch

Needles: Size1US

Notes: This will be the 4th pair of socks for CoffeeBoy, hopefully these will stand the test of time (and CB’s doing his own laundry) –  two pairs have felted or shrunk, one pair bled everywhere so they are now pink.  Sigh.  Anyway, these are not the most exciting socks to knit, but CB likes them so of course I’m going to make more.  I’m loving this new Bare yarn – soft & fuzzy!  One day I’ll have to get the actual Imagination yarns, but the Bare is lovely to work with.  Anyway, I used Tubey again for inspiration, but it’s my basic top down sock, slip stitch heel & plain toe.  I did go down a needle size for these (usually I knit the socks on 2US because…well, it goes faster) so maybe these will last a bit longer.

More socks!

An update on my Sunshine Socks – I’ve been working on them while watching season 2 of Veronica Mars – funny, I finally have cable, yet I keep watching my old videos.  Anyway, I like the  pattern a lot, as always with Cookie A.  I probably should be further with these but…

…I had to cast on with my new Cashmara yarn from the Knit/Crochet show last week.  Oo, I forget how much faster socks go on DK weight yarn.  I’m doing another Reversi – and hope these last.   I would have had a complete sock but I had to rip back – I did the pattern heel and got half way down the socks & worried I would run out of yarn on the second sock.  So I did a simple short row heel instead.  I’m also planning on not sewing up the toes right away on this sock until I’m sure I have enough yarn – if not, I’ll have rip back again. 😦  Now that I think about it, I guess I should have done an afterthought heel.

But to be honest, most of my days (nice days that is) have been spent working in my yard – I kind of got lazy for a week or two and spent way too much time being a depressed couch potato and I am fighting falling into that again.  So it’s been yard work for the past couple of days – and I really need to invest in better sun block. Ow!

Here’s my latest project – my “orchard”

That’s a nectarine, plum & peach tree planted there, along with my grape vines that are finally coming in.  I doubt I’ll get much fruit off of them this year, but we’ll see!  Obviously, I still have some work to do in this area.   It’s suppose to be beautiful the next few days, so I think I’ll get more done!  🙂

Have a great weekend everyone!

