In my last post, I mentioned that maybe I need some quickie FOs to get me out of my rut.  So I turned to my Comfort Knits – dishcloths/facecloths/towels.

I went to visit my mom this week – she just had foot surgery and is bed-ridden (or rather, couch-ridden) for the next week and bored out of her mind.  She recently joined Ravelry (yah!) and found these towels that she liked a lot.  So I printed the free pattern, bought several balls of bright cheery cotton for her to use, and came to visit.  Since I had a couple of skeins of the new KnitPicks Simply Cotton, I decieded to join her.

Mitered Hanging Towels

Started: April 21

Completed: April 25

Yarn:  KnitPicks Simply Cotton Worsted in Ginger & Toffee

Pattern: Pretty Vintage Hand Towel

Needles: Size 8US

Notes:  These were pretty quick & easy, which is why I generally don’t post FOs on my Comfort Knits – they’re not that exciting.  But I tried a couple of new things on these.  It’s the first time I’ve done mitered squares – I’ve seen lots of people do them, but never realized how simple they are.  It made me think of making a bunch out of my leftover sock yarn & make a blanket – I must be keeping those scraps for some reason right?  Next is the yarn – this is lovely stuff.  Much softer than Peaches & Cream/Sugar & Cream but doesn’t shed like the Lion Brand Organic Cotton  (not bothering with that one again).  Lovely stitch definition & I can get 1 of the these towel & a washcloth/Trible out of a skein (er, almost – I ran out of Ginger 2 inches before the button hole on the second towel after makinga washcloth earlier ths month. Oops.)  I will definitly be getting this yarn again – I think it would be lovely for a blanket as well.

My towels have mistakes design features on them becuase I cant count rows wanted a unique look.  I did random garter/stockinette rows, while my mom has perfect looking ones (should have gotten photos of those.)  We raced each other on making these – unsurprising, she beat me both times.  But it’s a contest I don’t mine losing – while I knit much more than she does these days, she has been knitting for 35+ years. 

I’ve been a bit under the weather the past couple of days – allergies mostly – and right now I’m trying to get motivated to go to the gym & mow the lawn.  But maybe I’ll just curl up with some more Comfort Knits. 🙂

