Monkey wearing Monkey Socks

Monkey wearing Monkey Socks

Taking a break from packing/cleaning/trying not the stress out too much to show a couple of FOs with a bit of theme.

 

Lets Go Crazy, Monkey
Let’s Go Crazy, Monkey

Let’s Go Crazy, Monkey Socks

Started:February 28

Completed: March 23

Yarn: PandaToes by CrazyMonkey in Let’s Go Crazy

Patten:  Monkey by Cookie A

Needles: Size 2US Harmony DPNs

Notes:  Seems fitting that my final pair of Commuter Socks is the Monkey pattern again, as my other monkey socks were the first pair I worked on while riding the commuter train to work.

I like how these turned out better though.  I like the Monkey pattern okay – it’s not my favourite, but I like how I can complete a repeat on a train ride.  And I love the yarn – I really enjoy having bamboo/wool blend yarn socks, they are so comfortable without being too warm.  And the colours from CrazyMonkey are fantastic.

These also may very well be my last pair of dpn-knitted socks.  I’ve gone to the dark side – I’m in love with Magic Loop.  Of course at this moment, I only have one circ to use for socks, but when I get back to OR my mom & I are planning a big knitpicks order together – I am trying not to buy yarn but I do want more circs & some Bare for socks for CoffeeBoy.

And for another Monkey…

 

I will hug him & pet him & call him George

I will hug him & pet him & call him George

George

Started: March 13th

Completed: March 21st

Yarn:  Lion Brand Cotton Ease in Beige (left over from my Grandma’s blanket), KnitPicks Wool of the Andes in Iron Ore, random white yarn in stash.

Pattern: Sock Monkey by Yvonne Boucher

Needles: Size 5US and 10.5US (for scarf)

Notes:  Not the cutest creature I’ve made,but I still love him – he’s very soft & hugable.  CB felt bad because he put the eyes on & put them on crooked so George has a bit of lopsided look to him.  Ah well, part of his charm I guess. Anyway, I just randomly decided to make him – as I mentioned he’ll probably go to my niece but maybe he’ll just be my buddy in the house in OR.  Only intentional mod was making the pieces in the round (Magic Loop!  Told you I’m hooked) and one unintentional mod – I messed up the striping on the legs – they don’t exactly match.  I’m just glad I finished him so I can get him packed up.

Tomorrow, the movers come to take all our stuff away.  Hopefully I won’t get too bored with the yarn I have with me…but at least I got something new this week to ogle…

 

Astarte from the Mythos Yarn Club

Astarte from the Mythos Yarn Club

Ooo, my first shipment from Lotus Knits Mythos Yarn club and it is purty!  This I think might be a scarf – this beautiful silver &  purples will be perfect for one.  So at least that’s something other than socks I can amuse myself with!  I’m also excited because Melanie might be coming to Portland for the Sock Summit! (which of course I will be attending – what great timing!)  I plan on stealing more of her yarn!  Check out her raffle here – there are some great prizes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

