For the most part, I feel like I’m a solitary crafter. I generally knit or do crafts by myself for various reasons – I don’t mind & most of the time like being alone with my thoughts, I can concentrate on what I’m doing, I don’t have to worry about anyone else being bored.  I do like going to Stitch N’ Bitches once in awhile – one day I need to make it back to the Lowell one with Amanda & Marianne – but for the most part I just knit or whatever on my own.

Well this week I branched out a bit.  

As Tuesday was a holiday and the trains into town were on a holiday schedule, I decided to just take the day off of work.  By lucky coincidence, my commuter buddy Britt had also taken the day off and was planning on making her first pilgrimage to WEBS with some friends.  I was invited along…and how could I resist?  I mean it’s WEBS!  

Of course, I did not take any pictures of the roadtrip.  It was a perfect day for a roadtrip too – chilly but clear for the most part.  I worked on my mom’s Christmas socks on the way over with Britt working on her socks & had a lovely time.  WEBS was fairly hopping, my guess because of the holiday. I kept my head for the most part with my purchases because I was concentrating on holiday gift knitting.  I did do the same thing I did last time – carry tons of yarn around before deciding against it & putting it back (in the correct place, thank you very much, I used to work in retail)  I love WEBS.  It’s ruined me for other yarn stores, at least for large purchases.

What I bought:

 

yarn yarn yarn

yarn yarn yarn

Most of these are for gift knitting – hats for my nephews, a scarf for…someone.  Sox for my sister.  But I had to get one thing for myself

 

Mmmmmm...stripey green alpaca socks....

Mmmmmm...stripey green alpaca socks....

I actually was looking for the new Malabrigo sock yarn, but sadly, I could not find it.  After looking at all kinds of sock yarn, I grabbed this at the last minute (literally, I was in line to pay and this was near me).  I love it and after all my gift knitting is done, it will be a nice pair of warm socks for myself.  Or maybe it’ll be a gift, but really, the colours are ME.

My other example of non solitary crafting this week was yesterday.  My best friend of 15 years is a papercraft addict – much like I’m a knitting fiend.  Every few months she hosts a gathering of scrappers (I think that is the correct term) and has invited me each time.  Well, papercraft isn’t really my thing but yesterday I took her up on it.  Glad I did, because it was really fun.  We each made 3 holiday cards.

 

my attempts

my attempts

I’m pretty pleased with mine – I still don’t think papercrafting is for me necessarily but it was really interesting.   I can see the appeal of it more now but for me to make these on a regular basis would involve buying a lot of items that would seriously cut into my yarn budget. 🙂  But now I have nice unique Christmas cards to send out this year.  

I think the BFF and I are going to have a craft night with some other crafty friends at some point where we teach each other our craft and make some things – she has an idea that we each bring a project from our prefer ed craft to show the others how to do and we each take a project home.  I’m trying to think of one I can do – I have a ton of size 7 & 8 dpns but I only use my Harmonies now.  Maybe I’ll put some caps on each of the old dpns and get some worsted weight yarn for each person and show how make…an ornament?   I want something small that can be finished in an evening.  That’ll take some thinking on.

So while I’m still pretty much a solitary crafter, I’m at least branching out a bit 🙂

