I did not go to Rhinebeck. I had thought I would until a couple of weeks ago.  I just didn’t have the money, nor, to be completly honest, the desire to buy more yarn.  Am I sick?  Perhaps.  Honestly, it’s begining to stress me out, having all these projects still.  I mean, I’ll still get my sock yarns from my clubs and maybe some holiday project items but really, I need to cut back in a serious way. But my weekend was not spent moping around.   

Saturday was filled with chocolate.

a table full of chocolate!

a table full of chocolate!

I went with some lovely ladies to a Chocolate Buffett, I’ve written about it before.  It was a smaller group than usual but still a great time.

One of my (many) plates.

One of my (many) plates.

We then did our post-chocolate routine of shoe shopping at Downtown Crossing.

We did not buy this shoe.

We did not buy this shoe.

And the it was off to Lush, where I spent some of my Rhinebeck savings on Lushy stuff – a nice trade off, I supose.  I will admit I did stop at Windsor Button before the meetup to pick up the Holiday Interweave Knits and I finally found Franklin‘s book!

The next day I continued my One Day Project Sunday with a snowman.

Hello there.

Hello there.

Posey

Started & Finished: October 19th

Yarn:  Mission Falls 1824, white and leftover sock yarn (held double) for the hat & scarf.

Pattern: Snowmen from KnitPIcks

Needles: Size 4US for the body, Size 3US for the scarf & hat

Notes:  I actually saw the prototypes of the cute little Snowmen way back in July when I visited Melissa at Knit Picks – she either created them or test knit them – I can’t remember!   Anyway, they were super cute so I had to make one when I saw they were avaiable.  This is the Rosey one, although I just gave her a scarf and hat instead of her little capelet.  I also didn’t realize it was felted until after I picked up some Mission Falls 1824…oops.  Superwash.  So I knit her at a pretty tight guage and I think that worked okay.  I used some left over sock yarn (finally!  Something to do with it!) for the hat & scarf.  Posey will be a gift, but I’llprobably be making more of them.  Super quick project.

So it was no Rhinebeck, but still a nice weekend.  Friends, chocolate, Lush, & knitting…it worked out just fine for me. 🙂

