Punk Rock Commuter Socks

Punk Rock Commuter Socks

Punk Rock Commuter Socks

Started:June 20th 2008

Completed July 24th

Yarn: Lotus Yarns Punk Rock Sock Club shipment #1 The Clash

Pattern: Used the Thuja stitch pattern

Needles: Size 0US Harmony dpns

Notes: A couple of firsts for me.  For one thing, this was the first sock club I joined – I was so excited for a punk rock sock club that I kept refreshing to make sure I got in. (Melanie, please do another one!).  And another first was this was the first time I used size 0 needles on anything – it wasn’t as scary as I thought it would be, although I did break all of my first set of size 0s before I could even start these.  I am very pleased with these socks, I think the Thuja pattern worked very well – it made such lovely stripes.  I CO 72 stitches, made a 6 inch cuff (my personal fave), did a regular short row heel so as to not screw up the striping that much, and a regular toe.  I’ve become a fan of short row heels on hand dyed yarns – it looks very nice and keeps from pooling.  I did get a bit of slotches on the toe, but that’s to be expected.

look at my heels!

look at my heels!

I should have perhaps used some nylon in the heels & toes, as this yarn is 100% merino, but ah well, I’ll survive.

This is my second pair of socks for the Summer of Socks – I think I’ll have at least 2 or 3 more before the Ravelympics 2008 where I’ll finally break out of my sock mode for a sweater I started, then frogged back in May.

Now I feel like blasting some Clash & jumping around to break in my new socks!

