It’s been a bit of an upsetting week at work – there were several unexpected layoffs yesterday, 10 people (out of an office of about 60 I think – it’s hard to know how many people actually work in the office) that threw us all for a loop.  Luckily, no one from my department (at least that I work directly with) was laidoff but many people, some who had been here for 10+ years, were affected.  It’s really sad and I’m not sure how to feel – first of all I’m pretty new and I haven’t worked with a lot of these people directly, like many of my close friends have, and I feel almost guilty for just getting hired and many more experienced people getting the ax.  That’s the way of the business world I guess, but doesn’t make it any easier.  One of the girls I’ve become friendly with – she’s a knitter – was not someone I would think would be affected, as she is the only one who does that particular job.  It’s hard being here.  Those in my department (there are 4 currently at the office, one is on maternity leave) went out for lunch and drinks just to discuss it yesterday – it’s nice we’re so close but on the other hand, sad because our dept was not directly affected like so many others.

Sorry for the ramble, but if I can’t do it here, where can I?

I might be away from the blog for a bit as we are going to be heading back to Oregon for a holiday (not great timing, given what’s happened at the office but we planned it back in April).  But it will be a relief to get away for a bit and I desperately miss Portland and my family.  I just don’t know how much I’ll be able to post but I should have some nice FOs to show off.  Probably socks. And maybe some new yarn from Twisted.  Probably sock yarn. I think I’m stuck in groove with that. 🙂  Anyway, I’ll be in OR from July 1st through the 8th, part of the time in Eugene with my family, part of the time in Portland.

Have a good week everyone!

