That shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone. I love socks in general.

As of yesterday it’s officially summer, at least by the calendar (actually it’s been pretty mild this week, thank goodness), And I hadn’t planned to, but I guess this is going to be my Summer Of Socks – I mean I have made a lot of socks over the past few months because of my commute, but I usually have a different project going when I’m at home. But socks are all I feel like working on at the moment. I think part of the reason is I’ve gained a lot of weight over the past few months – I actually stepped on a scale for the first time in a very long time and the number made me cry.  I knew I had gained weight, but I didn’t realize just how much.  So I don’t want to make any sweaters for awhile because I need to lose weight – and socks always fit.

I even finished 2 pairs this week; one was started back in April, the other my usual commuter socks (which I’ll write a separate post about this weekend, this one got a little long).

Not Quite Knee High Socks

Started: April 17th

Completed: June 19th

Yarn: KnitPicks Felici, Gelato 2 skeins

Pattern: Used Diana’s Knee Highs as a guide, but did them top down with an afterthought heel.

Needles: 1.5US Harmony dpns

Notes: I should rename these “not even close to knee highs”

Ah well I still like them. I think I decided that Felici is my favourite commercial made sock yarn (I’m excluding indie dyers from this) – I really love how soft it is and of course I adore the stripes. And they match!

It is just super entertaining to knit. I started these as a commuter sock way back in April and completed one pretty quickly, but really wanted to start the Reversi Socks, so I set them aside. I cast on for the second one right before we went and saw Indiana Jones because I didn’t have anything to work on during the movies but didn’t work on them again until I finsihed Clapotis – then I went to town! I finished the second in less than a week.

I cast on 72 stitches, ribbed for 2 inches then decreased 2 stitches every inch (or 3 stripes – I love not having to use a tape measure). The cuff ended up being 13 inches before doing the afterthought heel and my 9 inch foot. Even though I didn’t do them top down (I know!) I am pretty proud of myself. This was all I had left from the two skeins.

Maybe had enough for 2 or 3 stripes more each. Now I know I need to get at least 3 skeins of Felici for Knee Highs, if not 4. My knitting twin Amanda used a seperate skein of yarn for her fabulous knee highs. So my next KnitPicks order will include extra Felici – I will have knee high socks!

Tomorrow, more sock FOs, more sock yarn, more sock WiPs. See I told you, it’s all socks, all the time here.

