Silky Clapotis

Started: May 10th

Completed: June 9th

Yarn: Malabrigo Silky Merino in Vienna – 4.75 skeins

Pattern: the famous Clapotis by Kate Gilbert

Needles: 8US Harmony interchangeables

Finished Dimensions: – 65 inches by 24 inches

Notes: First off, I apologize for the dark pictures – while our unbearable icky heat is thankfully over, it’s still pretty hot – so all of these were taken in the only cool place in my house – my bedroom. At least I made the bed. Sort of.

Don’t I look happy? Well, don’t let this picture fool you. I loved this project. I can see why this pattern is so popular – it’s simple but interesting enough to keep me motivated. I actually hate making scarves – especially wide ones – so didn’t think I would enjoy it but was a delight.

The yarn is wonderful – I mean it is Malabrigo after all. I think it was perfect for ths project. My only annoyance is I had one skein that was a different dyelot, but in actuality, it was two – there’s a large part in the middle that doesn’t have any yellow in it at all. Ah well

I wish this shot was better, I’ve always wanted to do that pose. It’s funny, I never thought I would be into stoles & shawls but, just like Melissa, I’ve been finding myself looking at them more & more. This one certainly fit the bill – I think this will be a nice wrap for cool nights.

The only change I made was one extra straight row. Probably unnecessary, but I wanted to use as much of the Silky as I could and I like how long it is. I made a huge error at one end – somehow some live stitches slipped off the end of needle (I’m going to blame the cat) and I didn’t notice until I was completly done. Pretty heartstopping. But I managed to fix it without screwing it up too badly.

As it seems everyone in the knitting world has said, this is a wonderful project & I highly recommend it.

So now once again I find myself at a loss at what to work on. I picked up Cables & Os last night while watching Top Chef but it couldn’t hold my interest (I’ll never finish that sweater) so ended up swtiching to my Not Quite Knee High Socks as I got more & more tense during the show (luckily, my fave – who I picked the first time I watched it – won, but it was a bit stressful for a few moments). I will probably end up working on those for a bit – I still love the yarn & watching the stripes form but I’ve gotten in the habbit of not working on socks at home since I work on them so much else where – on the train, in the car, at the movies. But working on a sweater has little appeal. Hmmm, I’m going to have to think on this a bit.

