Since I missed out on MDSW, I asked CoffeeBoy (nicely!) if he wouldn’t mind taking a little drive to New Hampshire so I can see some cute Alpacas (and it goes without saying, yarn!).  It’s not that far from us (maybe an hour) so he was agreeable and away we went!  Actually, we were going to go yesterday but I’m glad we waited until today – it was absolutely perfect out!

I’ve only been to one other festival – Black Sheep Gathering – so I don’t have much to compare it to.  But I had a wonderful time, wandering around in the sun & checking out all the wool!  CB actually came with me – we had thought he might be able to drop me off, but it didn’t really work that way.  I think he had a nice time in any case, he put up with me squeeing over everything and mostly just laughed at me.  I probably had a better time at BSG – mostly because I was with my mom one day and all my PDX buddies the next, but still it was a lot of fun.

I kept an eye out for any people with Ravelry swag since I knew there were some people planning on coming. I’m just so terrible at faces. (Case in point – last night at my favourite Lowell restaurant, CB recognized Ricky Gervais also enjoying a nice dinner there.  I was totally oblivious, and I adore him and The Office, while CB hasn’t really seen anything with him in it.  He’s filming a movie here in town by the way, and no, I did not talk to him.)

Anyway! While CB geeked out at a tea vendor (a lot of time CoffeeBoy is actually TeaBoy but it doesn’t really have the same ring to it) I busied myself with some shopping!

A shot of a row of booths – and Ball and Skein!

One of the very nice ladies at Ball & Skein and I had a very nice discussion about my sweater (Comfy Cardigan – yes I realize I still need to take some better pictures of it), she loved it & wanted to make one herself.  🙂  I ended up spending the most money there actually, the yarns were all so lovely!

What we have here is 2 skeins of Arbori (50% Merino/50% Tencel), 1 skein of Super Sock (75% Merino/25% Nylon) and 1 skein of Tashi (65% Merino/20% Bamboo/15% Silk).  I know the Tashi will probably be another DreamSwatch – this time for myself – and the Arbori will probably be a stole/shawl/lacy thing.  It was all so pretty, I couldn’t help myself. 🙂

After that little purchase, I had to got see the Alpacas!

Unfortunatly, after this shot, my camera batteries died 😦  But at least I got these guys!  I love Alpacas – they are so adorable & sweet.  I would seriously consider owning oneif I had the room.  I spent a lot of time in the Alpaca area, just watching them & listening to them make their little cooing noises.

We ended up getting some yummy fried fair food and watching the dogs do their sheep hearding,  and then I took a deep breath and did something I didn’t think I would ever do.

I took the spinning plunge.

Just a small purchase – a Schalcht Hi-Lo Spindle from Hillcreek Fiber Studio and 2oz of Merino/Tencel to play with from Mountain View Farm – about $25 total.  No idea what I’m doing, I never had the desire to spin before, so we’ll see what kind of mess I’ll make.

I also picked up a bag, which was silly since I bought two bags from the Ravelry store yesterday (right place right time!) but I needed to carry my stuff around in!  I forgot where I bought it, I think it may have been at a Humane Society booth. It has little paw prints all over it and was only $5.  It’s cute but I’ll probably give it to my mom.

I also didn’t want to leave Mina out.

I realize you can’t really see it, it’s a little felted Mousie and she hasn’t let it out of her paws since.

