So today is a holiday for me – which is a perfect day to be lazy as it is pouring down rain outside. Warm though, but rain rain rain. Good day to lay around and knit!

First up, my FO from 2 weeks ago

Tweedy Commuter Socks

Started: January 18th

Completed: February 7th

Yarn: Knit Picks Essential Tweed in Black

Pattern: Basic sock: 6 inch cuff, 7×1 knit/purl pattern, eye of partridge heel, basic toe

Needles: Size 1US

Notes: Not much to say, it’s a basic sock. Essential Tweed is a nice sturdy yarn, softer than the Opal I’ve used for my long wearing socks, but not as soft as say STR or Koigu. As I’ve said before I’m not sure how happy I am with the coloured bits – they look like lint to me – but they are a nice neutral sock to wear. I could have made the cuff much longer as I have tons left over – that’s one of the great things about Knit Picks sock yarn, lots of yardage.

Which brings me to the new commuter sock – Stripey!

Oh I love this yarn, it’s Felici from Knit Picks again. So soft (merino!) and so entertaining with the stripes. And the heel looks great!

I didn’t get a lot of knitting done on the trip (I left with about 2 inches of the heel done and only got past the heel flap) but once I start working again, these will go quickly I think.

I’m thinking about making a big Knit Picks purchase (Harmony Options…?) and throwing a few more balls of this in the order, I really love stripey socks and I love the longer colour repeats on these.

I’ve been working on my Grandma’s afghan & Green Gable this weekend, maybe I’ll try to get a WiP Wednesday post up too!

