So instead of going to Bazaar Bizarre today with my best friend to do some fun holiday shopping, CoffeeBoy & I woke up to a flooded basement & bathroom. Apparently a little flexipipe on the toilet lost it’s seal in the bathroom…and spewed (luckily, clean) water for who knows how long – CB went to bed around 1:30am and we got up about 8:30 because my poor cat was crying outside the bedroom door – obviously upset she couldn’t get to her food because of the swamp in the living room. The basement had about 2 inches of water on the floor & all the plastic bins we used in our move were full of water. I mean it could have been worse – we’re replacing the living room carpet soon anyway and there was very little damage because we don’t have a lot in the basement. So we took a flying trip to Home Depot (after a stop at a cafe because, not only did was have a flood, we didn’t have any coffee in the house. And we had to use the bathroom) and then came home to bail out the basement and try to get as much water out of the carpet as possible. Luckily, there was a small drain in the basement, so the water on the floor had gone, so it was pretty much getting the water out of the bins. 100 gallons of water. And hey, I wanted to clean the bathroom floor anyway. Sigh. I realize we were lucky – what if this happened while we were gone to Portland? What if it was a more expensive problem? – but still. Not a good way to start a Sunday.

Then I decided to work on my mom’s present to take my mind off of things – I ended up going with a modified Huckleberry Ascot from the Holiday Interweave knits. I choose a larger weight yarn – Debbie Bliss’s Alpaca Silk – and larger needles. I thought 2 balls would be enough since I wasn’t going to make it as wide and less bobbles. I thought wrong.

So this is one side of the ruffly end of the scarf – the ends are wider than the middle & it has cute (but annoying to make) bobbles. I did a lot less bobbles, though maybe I should have made them smaller. I do like how it turned out though. But…

…this is how much I have left to do the other end. It’s about 10 inches. SIGH. Now I have to buy another ball of this yarn – and hope they have it in the right dyelot – to use maybe a quarter of it. Argh.

I going to go take a Lush -y bath now. Maybe the yarn will grow while I’m in there.

