(Warning, picture heavy post!)

She is done!

Central Park Hoodie

Started: July 28th

Finished: October 15th

Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Iron Ore. 13 skeins total.

Pattern: the famous Central Park Hoodie (Ravelry link), Knitscene fall 2006 (huge thanks to Melissa for the magazine!)

Needles: Size 6US & size 8US circular needles

Notes: Words cannot express how much I adore this.

(Thought I’d play with some arty B&W shots.)

I am so happy with this, I finally have a sweater that I made that doesn’t look handmade…and fits perfectly. There were comments that it runs small, but I didn’t have a problem. I made the 40′ size & it’s a little big if anything, but I don’t mind…it’s a comfy sweater.

I love the yarn, WotA is a great deal (I got this on sale for $1.49 I think) and it feels just fine to me. I washed it in Eucalan & it softened up quite a bit. The cables really pop with it.

A couple of modifications. I contiuned the cable up the hood (I think almost everyone does).

I grafted the hood & picked up the stitches for the button band all at once. I did an i-cord bindoff on the whole band too…I LOVE the way it looks, it makes a very nice edging. I’m defintely going to do this all the time on sweaters.

(this was taken during the blocking stage…that safety pin is marking the button placement)

I added a few inches to the body & an inch to the sleeves…and for the first time, my sleeves are too long! Ah well, I just folded up the cuff.

This is going to get a lot of wear…it’s already chilly here – and it’s super warm.

Did I mention I love cables?

So very happy.

I also figured out how to set the timer on my camera (yeah, I know I’ve had it for 6 months, whatever). I think I have now proved to my neighbors I’m nuts as I spent like an hour trying to get some decent shots of it…and I think the guy next door saw me. Ah well.

Next up is mostly Christmas gifts…it’s going to be even more difficult this year, as several members of my family (and CoffeeBoys’) have my blog address now…but not only that, they regularly check my flickr account. Which makes it a problem to put on Ravelry. Hmmmm…I’m going to have to think on this a bit.

