Since I gave Carmel her gift last night, I can finally reveal the secret FO I finished earlier this week:

The Loa Pebbley Scarf

Started:  August 20th

Completed: August 21

 Yarn: Araucania Loa, colour 406 – 2 hanks

Pattern: Simple sideways garter stitch scarf

Needles: Size 13US

Featuring the return of Betty! 

Notes:  This was probably one of the fastest knits I’ve ever done – a couple of episodes of Deadwood & I bound off.  A little bit skinnier & longer than I would have liked – it’s 3 inches by a whopping 72 inches – so I wish I would have used size 15 needles but I didn’t have any.  I also would have used less stitches but I didn’t swatch & just guessed that 150 stitches would be long enough.  A bit too long as it turned out but ah well.  I used both hanks of yarn.

The yarn was not my favourite to work with – nothing against the yarn but I think it would have been easier to work with on larger needles – it got really uncomfortable on the 13’s   But I love how it looks knitted up – like pebbles (hence the name.)

 

 So Happy Birthday Carmel!  I hope you enjoy it & it keeps you nice and warm this fall!

Leaving for Boston in 18 hours…maybe I should go pack…

