Yep, I finished the Harry Potter book (love!) but that’s not what I’m talking about at the moment

I finished my Sockapalooza Socks!

Sockapalooza Socks

Started: July 9th

Completed July 21

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Heavyweight Mill End (possibly Puck’s Mischief colorway)

Pattern: Broad Spiral Ribbing on leg, Garter Edge Heel, and plain foot & toe, all from More Sensational Knitted Socks

Needles: Size 4US dpts

Notes: I love these socks, and I really hope my pal does as well!

I think the stitch pattern looks great with this yarn – a mini cabled look to it.  And the yarn!  STR is wonderfully squishy & soft – I put these on & didn’t want to take them off!  Since it’s a mill end, there are some areas where the yarn color isn’t quite as vivid, but I don’t think it’s that big of a deal.

My pal has about the same size feet, which was good because the socks look weird off – maybe because the pattern stops at the foot.  I think they’d look better with the pattern continued on, but my pal asked it to be plain.

I tried a new heel on these – a 3 stitch garter border on the heel.  It made a nice change – I generally do just a simple heel flap.  Just trying to expand my horizons!

Now just to wash & pack them up to be ready to send off next week!

It’s been a crazy weekend with Harry Potter – I’ll give my full review in a couple of days – especially working in a bookstore.  We had a lot of fun at the party at the store, most of the staff dressed up & all the customers seemed really happy – we were done ringing them up by 1am!  But it has been exhausting.  Tonight is friends of ours last night in town, so it looks like we’ll be going out to see them off right.

And we just found out today we might be moving to Boston sooner – a lot sooner – than expected.  CoffeeBoy may have to start his job Sept 10.  We were expecting to leave early to mid-Oct.  So I may not be going to Flock & Fiber in September…but I’ll be in Boston!

Now to hopefully take a nap before I have to go out again!

 

