Before the WiPs start, I have to say one thing

I am possibly the dumbest person alive.

Why you ask? Because after reading about everybody’s invite to Ravelry & wondering what happened to mine (I had signed up quite early), I finally broke down & emailed Casey – I really didn’t want to bother them but I knew I had signed up before other people who recently received invites. He replied within minutes to tell me my invite had gone out MAY 2nd!!! Oh gods, I thought I was going crazy. The invite code he sent with the email didn’t work so I’m hoping I’ll get another. Fingers crossed! I just feel so stupid, it must have ended up in the spam box. Sigh. I just want to play!

Okay on to the WiPs

So what do I start in the midst of summer? A scarf. A wool scarf. Brilliant. So this is the ever popular Chevron Scarf from Last Minute Knitted Gifts that everyone was doing a few months ago. I’m using 2 of my Blue Moon STR Heavyweight mill ends I got at BSG. Since it’s a heavier weight than the called for Koigu, I went up a needle size. I was too lazy to figure out the stitch count to make it smaller so it’ll be a wider scarf than I normally wear. I really love it though, it’s a great movie project, easy to remember, I just have to go slowly so I can keep track of the stitches – I think I went a little decrease crazy on the first row so it’s a bit wonky but I love it.

It’s also out of my usual colour choices so it’s good for me to expand my horizons.

One that is not a good movie project nor out of my usual colour choices is the Cables & Os.

But I love it anyway. I do about one repeat per week, but I have to concentrate on it (so no websurfing or movie watching while working on it) so it’s a good to work on when listening to audio books – luckily I have many (just got World War Z & another copy of Assassination Vacation uploaded so I’m set until I get my hot little hands on the new Harry Potter) I love working on this, I think it’s going to be a favourite – if I ever finish it.

And I finally started my Sockapalooza pal socks.

Again, it’s with STR mill end – I feel weird gifting socks that they won’t be able to wear for several months, but I love how it’s turning out. I’m using the Broad Spiral Ribbing from More Sensational Knitted Socks

I’m also doing a new heel for me- a garter edge heel. I just started it, so it’s interesting (I’ve had to rip back 3 times, but now I think I’ve got it). I should finish this one by the end of the week and then it’s on to the second. I’m really trying hard not to cast on for another pair of socks…I’ve been fondling my Opal Rainforest this week, thinking about it. I think it’s telling me I should try a Cookie pattern…like Monkey. Again, I’m always behind the curve.

Maybe if I hadn’t missed my Ravelry invite, I would have cast on for them. Yes, I’m bitter. And feeling stupid.

So to cheer me, here’s what I bought at the Harry & the Potters show last night.

